Château Paveil de Luze is one of the oldest properties in the Médoc. There have been six generations of owners since the 19th century. Its history presents a fascinating family saga, whose various characters have shown great passion for the property and have all left their mark. Paveil’s vineyard dates from the 17th century and belonged to the Lords of Bretonneau until the end of the 18th century. During the reign of Louis XV, one of the family married a daughter of the Chevalier de Rauzan. In 1862, Baron Alfred de Luze bought the magnificent 120 hectare estate and established an international reputation for its wines, particularly in the United States where his brother, Louis-Philippe, was responsible for their distribution. The Siberian winter of 1956 destroyed a substantial part of the vineyard, but in 1960 Baron Geoffroy de Luze decided to restore the property to its former glory. The gradual rejuvenation process required method and patience, with a replanting of the vines, new vats and a renovation of the winery.

Château Paveil de Luze is special in several respects. First, there is the 32 hectare vineyard, with its magnificent east/west exposure, where vines have been planted on a single block of land, on the same soil, for three centuries. The gravelly soil and subsoil ensure a natural drainage that contributes to the finesse of the wines. Traditional grape varieties are planted with a predominance of Cabernet Sauvignon (65%), accompanied by Merlot (30%) and Cabernet Franc (5%).

Visit Producer's Website